Hold Me Like a Breath (Review)

hold-like-breath

Hold Me Like a Breath by Tiffany Schmidt

Released on May 15, 2015

ARC courtesy of NetGalley

First things first, I’ll start with the protagonist. Essentially, she was one of the main aspects of this novel that made it a little more unique. Because she has Idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura, she is unable to touch or be touched without obtaining various, often painful, bruises on her body. As a result of this, her family is extremely protective and she is forced to live her life in a gilded cage; she is often unaware of what is happening around her, and made to feel like a priceless heirloom rather than a member of the family. While this is understandable, I was deeply annoyed by how how spoiled she was. On one or two occasions in the novel, she threatens other people through the use of her father’s power and authority. The fact that she was spoiled makes sense, but nothing annoys me more than a character who pulls the “wait until my father hears about this” card. My annoyance only increased as the novel went on, because I quickly came to realize that all of her problems were solved using either money, or her connections to some higher-ups.

As for the romance, the insta-love in this novel had me rolling my eyes from the start, because it was a typical “love at first sight” sort of relationship. Maybe some people like to read about those kinds of relationships, but in my opinion, they’re just cheesy and unrealistic. While there was a small semblance of a love triangle, it didn’t really develop (although it looks like it could in the future).

Aside from this, I found the writing to be somewhat poor. Rather than trying to deal with the complexities of the plot line in an interesting way, the author made certain situations too easy or convenient. I often found myself wondering, “What is this person doing here?” or “How did this character manage to do what he/she just did so easily?”

Other than my various complaints about the characters and the storyline, one of the aspects of this book that I enjoyed was the fact that the protagonist’s family was operating in the organ selling business. I have never read any other young adult book like this one in that regard, and I appreciate this originality. Also, the fact that her family business is illegal makes things more complicated for the protagonist, although I wish the author dealt with these complications more smoothly.

As you can probably tell by now, this book just didn’t do it for me. While I was able to get through the entire novel, I don’t ever see myself recommending it to anyone. All together, it was a forgettable reading experience.

998911828035020130115 (1)

