14 Books That Made My 2014

We’re halfway through December and it’s almost time to usher in the New Year. I saw Eden do a post for her 14 favorite YA fiction from 2014 over at Blogging Between the Lines, and it inspired me to make my own list! So, to commemorate the end of 2014, I’ve compiled this list of 14 books that made my 2014. These are all awesome books that made the year a great reading year for me. I’ll start the countdown from #14 and end with my #1 favorite book of the year. Note: not all of these books were released in 2014, but I read all of them for the first time this year.

Without further ado, I present to you the 14 books that made my 2014!

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

The Duff by Kody Keplinger

I kind of have a love/hate relationship with this book. Everything about it SHOULD make me hate it- I don’t really like contemporary fiction, and on top of that it’s so cliche and the protagonist gives me headaches. And yet, I found myself enjoying it and becoming emotionally invested in it so…think of it as a better than average fanfiction and you might just like it.

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno

Review here!

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I love how powerful and strong Celeana is. She is one of my absolute favorite protagonists. You can read my review for Throne of Glass here.

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Not very original, but still a good read in my opinion. Review here.

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

Reboot by Amy Tintera

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

This is a very unique book- it has a cool, mess-with-your-mind creepiness to it.

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

This was an awesome ending to a great series and I loved it. You can read my review for R&R here.

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

Puck is in this book. Puck is amazing. Therefore, this book is amazing. (But in all seriousness, I really enjoyed this book and the character development that the protagonist, Meghan, undergoes).

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

Endless Knight by Kresley Cole

Can’t wait for Dead of Winter to come out next month!

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

*Insert screams* I lovvveeee this book. I can talk about Warner and Kenji all day long, they are some of my absolute favorite characters ever! The character development that Juliette and Warner undergo throughout the series is fantastic. While the book focuses more on Juliette’s emotions and romantic endeavors than it does on the whole war thing that’s going on (yeah…that’s kind of important), I still really enjoyed reading it. I just wish Tahereh would write more books for the series.

free glitter text and family website at FamilyLobby.com

What about you guys? What books did you really enjoy reading this year? Drop a comment and let me know! 🙂

-Batool

4 thoughts on “14 Books That Made My 2014

  1. What did you think of Reboot?? I read it last year and it was interesting, but the characters weren’t compelling enough to keep my attention so I haven’t picked up the second book yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually agree with you, the characters are not super interesting or unique. That being said, I thought the concept was very cool. Also, even though the two main characters aren’t super intriguing, I thought they balanced each other out really well and I liked seeing their relationship develop. Overall, I liked the book. Unfortunately, I thought the second book was kind of a let down.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aww that’s disappointing. I did like the contrasting main characters, tho. It’s interesting to see a male character who is perceived as so weak and stuff like that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I thought that too! I also love how Callum is unwilling to lose his sense of humanity by killing- it reminded me of Peeta, and how he didn’t want the Games to turn him into something that he’s not.

        Like

Leave a Reply

